diff --git a/faq/index.html b/faq/index.html index a34606fb44..12987b9ca0 100644 --- a/faq/index.html +++ b/faq/index.html @@ -854,7 +854,9 @@ window.addEventListener('scroll',changeHeaderBg);
Also see: I do not see the second tick on the messages I sent
+To know when your contact read your messages, your contact's app has to send you a confirmation message. And vice versa, for your contact to know when you read the message, your app has to send a confirmation message.
+The important questions for this feature:
+Overall, it seems that this feature is more damaging to your communications with your contacts than it is helpful. It keeps senders longer in the app, nervously waiting for read receipts, exploiting addicitve patterns - having you spend more time in the app is the reason why it is usually present in most messaging apps. It also creates a pressure on the recipients to reply sooner, and if read receipts are opt-in, it creates a pressure to enable it, that can be particularly damaging in any relationships with power imbalance.
+We think that delivery receipts are important and equally benefit both sides as the conversation, as they confirm that communication network functions properly. But we strongly believe that read receipts is an anti-feature that only benefits the app developers, and hurts the relations between the app users. So we are not planning to add it even as opt-in. In case you want your contact to know you've read the message put a reaction to it. And if you don't want them to know it - it is also ok, what your device sends should be under your control.
You can use your profile from mobile device on desktop. However, to do so you need to be on the same network, both on your mobile and desktop. More about it: Release info.
+In SimpleX Chat, you and your contacts can delete the messages you send from recipients' devices if you both agree to that within 24 hours of sending it. To be able to do that you both have to enable "Delete for everyone" option in Contact preferences - tap on the contact's name above the conversation to get there.
+You can also revoke the files you send. If the recipients did not yet receive the file, they will not be able to receive it after the file is revoked.
+This is different from most other messengers that allow deleting messages from the recipients' devices without any agreement with the recipients.
+We believe that allowing deleting information from your device to your contacts is a very wrong design decision for several reasons:
+It is also important to remember, that even if your contact enabled "Delete for everyone", you cannot really see it as a strong guarantee that the message will be deleted. Your contact's app can have a very simple modification (a one-line code change), that would prevent this deletion from happening when you request it. So you cannot see it as something that guarantees your security from your contacts.
+When "Delete for everyone" is not enabled, you can still mark the sent message as deleted within 24 hours of sending it. In this case the recipient will see it as "deleted message", and will be able to reveal the original message.
There may be several reasons messages are not delivered to you from your contact: